Skip to content

International 3D Society Selects Board of Governors

The International 3D Society (I3DS) announced that it has selected its board of governors and executive committee for 2011-2012.

For more information visit:

Unedited press release follows:

International 3D Society Announces Board of Governors

LOS ANGELES–The International 3D Society (I3DS) has chosen its board of governors and their executive committee for fiscal year 2011-2012.

Jim Mainard, Head of Production Development, DreamWorks Animation (DWA) was named Chair and Tom Cosgrove, President and Chief Executive Officer at 3net will serve as Chair-Elect for the Society.

Others named to the I3DS Executive Committee include Kappei Morishita, General Manager for the Blu-ray License Group, Panasonic Hollywood Lab, Panasonic Corporation of North America (First Vice-Chair/Treasurer); Lenny Lipton, Vice Chair/Secretary, 3D inventor (Vice Chair/Secretary); and Buzz Hays, Senior Vice President and 3D Producer, Sony Pictures Technologies, Sony Corporation of America (Past Chair). Jim Chabin, President of the Society, will also serve on the executive committee.

The International 3D Society provides community, education and recognition to its membership and is dedicated to the advancement of stereoscopic 3D arts and technology.

Mainard congratulated the membership on the progress the organization has made over the past year, noting, “The International 3D Society’s leadership now connects 3D companies and professionals from the United States to China, Korea, Japan, United Kingdom and 17 countries, all working together to move 3D forward.”

“3D is now colonizing screen platforms throughout the marketplace. The Society’s Board of Governors will advance and strengthen our efforts to fill that pipeline with superb quality content to advance the success of 3D,” added Chabin.

The International 3D Society Board of Governors and its general membership span the growing stereoscopic industry with representatives from major studios, in home, producers, technology suppliers, exhibitors and distributors. A complete list of board members follows.

International 3D Society underwriters include Signature Sponsors Panasonic Corporation and Korea Telecom and Founding Sponsors Dolby Laboratories, DreamWorks Animation (DWA), IMAX, MasterImage 3D, PIXAR, Sony Corporation of America, The Walt Disney Studios and XPAND 3D; also Member Sponsors Autodesk, Azuna, DirecTV, Discovery Communications and Quantel. For membership or information, please visit

The International 3D Society Board of Governors for 2011-2012 are:

Maria Costeira    -    XPAND 3D    CEO

Peter Dobson    -    Mann Theatres    CEO

Rob Engle    -    Sony Pictures Imageworks    3D Visual Effects Supervisor

Greg Foster    -    IMAX    Chairman and President of Filmed Entertainment

Ron Geller    Dolby Laboratories, Inc.    -    Vice President, Worldwide Content Relations

Charlotte Huggins    -    Salient Features    Producer

Peter Koplik    -    MasterImage 3D    President Digital Cinema

Brian Lenz    -    BSkyB    Director, Product Design & TV Product Development

Howard Lukk    -    The Walt Disney Studios    Vice President, Digital Production and Technology, Studio New Technology

Steve Schklair    -    3ality Digital, LLC    CEO/Founder

Kurt Schwenk    -    Paramount Pictures,    VP of Post Production Services

Lisa Truitt    -    National Geographic Cinema Ventures    President