Skip to content

Motion Supports Extending Canadian Music Levy

On March 16, 2010, the Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage approved a motion that supports extending the private audio copying levy to digital devices “with internal memory” (such as iPods, cell phones, computers, etc.).

Specifically, Bloc Québécois MP Carole Lavallée moved: “That the Committee recommends that the government amend Part VIII of the Copyright Act so that the definition of ‘audio recording medium’ extends to devices with internal memory, so that the levy on copying music will apply to digital music recorders as well, thereby entitling music creators to some compensation for the copies made of their work.”

According to the minutes of proceedings, the result of the vote was tied with the Chair supporting the motion:

Yes: Charlie Angus (NDP), Carole Lavallée (Bloc Québécois), Roger Pomerleau (Bloc Québécois), Scott Simms (Liberal), Justin Trudeau (Liberal), Gary Ralph Schellenberger (Chair – Conservative)

No: Rod Bruinooge (Conservative), Dean Del Mastro (Conservative), Royal Galipeau (Conservative), Nina Grewal (Conservative), Tim Uppal (Conservative)